Linux.com Dropline Gnome Review

Glen Journeay has done a review of Dropline Gnome 2.14.0 over at Linux.com. Dropline Gnome 2.14.1 was released on May 01. Glen paints a very positive portrait in his review, prompting one commenter to give DLG a try.

Here’s his summary:

I have to admit that dropline GNOME satisfies a very basic itch. I get to keep using Slackware, a distribution I have come to rely on to provide a fast, stable, and full-featured Linux, and I get a cutting-edge GNOME desktop. This allows me to see where GNOME is heading, and since it’s still Slackware, I can easily add all the programs I want by downloading and compiling the source. Dropline GNOME is not Ubuntu, but then Slackware is not Ubuntu. It’s not the easiest distribution to install or configure, but it just works. Dropline GNOME too works well for everything I ask of it.

I’m still using Dropline Gnome on my desktop at home, as I have been for the last 2 or 3 years. It’s gone through many changes but has always managed to provide a stable, up-to-date desktop for Slackware. What more could one ask for?

The Open Source Pimp noticed the review too. And Silvestre (aka ertz) will be releasing a new “Dropline Neu!” release by the end of this week. Exciting! Ertz is the reason for Dropline being so beautiful and eye-pleasing.

About Tyler

Hi! I'm Tyler, a freelance web developer. I have two beautiful daughters and beautiful wife I like PHP, JavaScript, WordPress, Git, HTML5 & CSS3, and other neat things. I really love the open source community, too. You can find me on twitter or Google+, and Github.
This entry was posted in Enhance Slackware, General. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Linux.com Dropline Gnome Review

  1. Hi, I was just going through the referrer logs on my website and noticed some traffic from here.
    With you permission I’d like to syndicate your rss feed into my opensource blogs category on opensourcepimp.com.

    kindest regards
    Alfred

  2. amuami says:

    Hi, Nice Blog for SLACKWARE…
    I recomend FREEROCK GNOME , can find it here http://gsb.freerock.org/
    I like it better for 10.2 than DROPLINE…
    Hey, keep the excelent work with the blog information for all of us…
    Best Regards
    amuami

  3. Zubin Bhuyan says:

    Me and 2 of my friends tried it recently,
    not as scary-to-use as we had heard before.
    Your blog was the inspiration!!!!
    Cheers.

Leave a Reply

