Linux Kernel 2.6.17

Version 2.6.17 of the linux kernel came out today. The last 2.6.16 kernel we saw was 2.6.16.20, and the 2.6.16 was the latest stable release for a good period of time.

I know a 2.4 kernel is still default in slackware-current, but I think we’ll see a kernel out of the 2.6.17 series make the debut as the default kernel in Slackware 11. I don’t have any specific reasoning behind that statement, I just feel it.

About Tyler

Hi! I'm Tyler, a freelance web developer. I have two beautiful daughters and beautiful wife I like PHP, JavaScript, WordPress, Git, HTML5 & CSS3, and other neat things. I really love the open source community, too. You can find me on twitter or Google+, and Github.
This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Linux Kernel 2.6.17

  1. AnonymousSlacker says:

    I think it is too late for the default kernel to change, 11.0 is so close :-). I don’t think Patrick will use 2.6.17 at all, 2.6.16.x will stay. It is stable enough now and support is not over for it. There is a 2.6.16.21 release already (even though you cannot see it in the kernel.org homepage), I feel it will be in the /testing directory too.
    Have fun slacking!

Leave a Reply

